Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/youth/public_html/libs/classes/db.class.php on line 11

Notice: Undefined property: DBConnection::$queries_count in /home/youth/public_html/libs/classes/db.class.php on line 37
Youth Akali Dal-YAD

About YAD

Youth Akali Dal is the youth wing of an Indian regional political party-Shiromani Akali Dal, the oldest regional party of India.

The Youth Akali Dal professes a secular and democratic outlook and continuously working to uplift the weaker sections of society. The party leaders have been greatly influenced by the Pride of Punjab, Sardar Parkash Singh Badal. Youth Akali Dal has always been in the forefront of all movements-be in against female foeticide, against corruption, step motherly treatment by UPA government or demanding MSP for crops on the formula devised by Scientist M.S.Swaminathan and many other issues. As a unique initiative to support girl child and disabled, It gave free cycles to girl students and disabled persons in Punjab. The party also helped in rescue and rehabilitation process in Uttarkhand and Jammu and Kashmir when floods caused huge devastation.

The avowed aim of the Youth Akali Dal has been to channelize enterprising nature of youth into meaningful pursuits to give back something to society. The Youth Akali Dal is the only youth organization in the country that has participated in social, environmental and cultural issues. Empowerment of women, farmers and other sections of society has been its core agenda.


It was just before the year 1966, there was a massive struggle for creation of a separate state of Punjab. Youth played a major role in demanding a separate state on linguistic basis. Haryana and Himachal Pradesh became separate states. Though youth played a vital role in the struggle for a separate state, it was not a separate entity. The Youth Akali Dal formally came into existence in 1982 when Prem Singh Chandumajra became its first president. He became General Secretary of Shiromani Akali Dal in 1992. However, it was for both Sukhbir Singh Badal and Bikram Singh Majithia to infuse life into Youth Akali Dal with their organizational acumen ahead of the Assembly elections in Punjab in year 2007 to assist Shiromani Akali Dal overthrew the then Congress government in Punjab.

A nursery for future leaders

The Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab and President of Shiromani Akali Dal, Sukhbir Singh Badal, Cabinet Ministers, Prem Singh Chandumajra, Parminder Singh Dhindsa and have been active in Youth Akali Dal before moving to Shiromani Akali Dal Bikram Singh Majithia, the Cabinet Minister in Punjab is a former President of Youth Akali Dal.

High tech youth wing

The Youth Akali Dal is a blend of tradition and technology and on May 13, 2015 launched its membership drive with slogans like mainu hai Punjab te maan,Youth Akali Dal meri pehchan meaning I am proud of Punjab and Youth Akali Dal is my identity, and Proud to be an Akali. The drive has been launched with online back-up that would have all the details of the birthday and anniversaries of the members. All new members are being given identity cards on the spot. The YAD has taken the details of birthdays and anniversaries of the members being enrolled so that they can be wished on line on Whats App, Facebook, Twitter and other social networking sites on these occasions and also to reach out to the new generation and to ensure that there is a close relation with the party. The success of the membership drive can be understood from the fat that in just three weeks, the membership of YAD has swelled to over one lakh members.  The Youth Akali Dal has also come up with a Mobile App.

Party structure

The Youth Akali Dal structure is unique and most democratic in its own way. Instead of a single President as Punjab has been divided into 5 different Zones. Kanwarjit Singh Rozi Barkandi is the president of first zone called Malwa-1 which comprises of Bathinda, Mansa, Mukatsar Sahib, Fazilka, Ferozepur and Faridkot districts. Harpal Juneja has been appointed as President of second zone called Malwa-2 which comprises of Patiala, Sangrur, Barnala, Fatehgarh Sahib and Mohali. Tarsem Singh Bhinder has been appointed as President of third zone called Malwa-3 which comprises of Ludhiana, Moga and Ropar. Sarabjot Singh Sahbi has been appointed as President of fourth zone Doaba which comprises of Jalandhar, Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur and SBS Nagar and Chief Parliamentary Secretary Inderbir Singh Bolaria has been appointed as President of fifth zone Majha which comprises of Amritsar, tarntaran, Gurdaspur and Pathankot. For proper coordination, Sharanjit Singh Dhillon, Irrigation Minister, Punjab and General Secretary of SAD is the Coordinator of the YAD while Parminder Singh Brar is the Secretary General and office in charge of Youth Akali Dal.